Information about Master's Studies


Master's Courses of Studies in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at RWTH Aachen University

After finishing your Bachelor studies, you have nine, three semester long Master courses of study to choose from at RWTH Aachen University. You can specialize according to your interests in these Master's programs. These programs model the breadth of mechanical engineering studies at RWTH Aachen University.


Composition and Structure of Master's Courses of Study

Although every Master's course of study in the Department of Mechanical Engineering has its own focuses, the courses of study are similar in their composition.

Almost every Master's course of study integrates a comprehensive mandatory section, that serves to advance students' basic knowledge, such as heat and material transmission, fluid mechanics, and production engineering.

Furthermore, our Master's program offer the possibility to specialize in one or more specialization areas. As a student, you are able to create your own focus by taking elective subjects or supplmenting your studies with additional subjects.

In order to receive both the Master's degree from RWTH Aachen University and an academic degree from your Grande École, you must complete a Master's thesis. Similar to the Bachelor's thesis, you will be advised by a professor from RWTH Aachen University; the thesis will be about 80 pages and must be finished within 18 to 22 weeks.